Go to the Stoolball England home page

Horsham wins Seaford tournament 2011

Wednesday 17 August 2011, 8.00am

Isfield batting at SeafordThe Salts Recreation ground at Seaford was the scene of a memorable county stoolball championship tournament win for Horsham Stoolball Club on 7 August as they defeated Angmering, the reigning champions, off the last ball of the day. With the scores level at 64 apiece, Horsham’s Jackie Elliott calmly swept the ball to the boundary to bring Horsham their first ever win in 55 years.

In the opening four rounds, Horsham defeated Newick, Isfield, Ringmer and Burwash by convincing margins as fast bowler Sue Targett ripped through the opposition batting. Her performance was complemented by strong batting from Julia Southward and skipper Nicky Shute and saw Horsham in the semi-finals against last year’s finalists Horsted Keynes. Again fine bowling and batting supported by excellent fielding and catching, particularly from Jess Dean and Lydia Rafferty saw Horsham safely through to a place in the final.

Batting first Angmering scored 64 in four overs off the Horsham attack of Sue Targett and Sarah Oram but some fine batting from Jackie Elliott and Sue Targett saw Horsham home to a memorable victory.

We have more photos from the tournament on our Facebook page.

Horsham’s team:

  • Nicky Shute (Capt)
  • Angela Marshall
  • Sue Targett
  • Jackie Elliott
  • Jess Dean
  • Lydia Rafferty
  • Sarah Oram
  • Julie Southward

Section 1

Winners: Horsted Keynes

Runners-up: Stone Cross

Section 2

Winners: Angmering

Runners-up: Loxwood

Section 3

Winners: Horsham

Runners-up: Burwash


Horsted Keynes 47 v Horsham 59

Angmering 80 v Burwash 45


Horsham 68 v Angmering 64

Individual winners

Most runs: Maxine Chapman, Angmering – 206

Most wickets: Sue Targett, Horsham – 7 wickets

Most catches: Rachel Bartlett, Loxwood – 3 catches

Tags: horsham, seaford, tournaments