Go to the Stoolball England home page

Yapton wins Rest of the League tournament

Tuesday 12 August 2008, 4.40pm

The oddly-named Rest of the League tournament is open to all those teams in the Sussex County Stoolball Association which finished outside the top four in each of the five divisional leagues. With the forecasters suggesting that rain could appear at any time throughout the day, teams had to score their runs in just three frantic overs.

Little Common batting in the final

Little Common batting in the final

The tournament was held at Plumpton on Sunday 10 August 2008, and what a difference a week can make! Seven days before the top 16 ladies teams struggled to compete in the Sussex County Cup at Seaford with very strong winds. But here, whilst the winds were blustery, the teams in this tournament were blessed with regular appearances of warm sunshine on Plumpton Green Cricket Ground where stoolball has been played for over 100 years.

Stoolball at Plumpton Cricket Ground

Stoolball at Plumpton Cricket Ground

After 25 preliminary round matches, the field was reduced to four, two teams having been unbeaten in their sections, Yapton and Little Common, and two runners-up, East Grinstead and Stedham. In the play-off for the Losers’ Cup, a rejuvenated East Grinstead team from North Division, recorded a victory over Stedham (West Division) by a single run. This was an excellent reward for a club which came close to folding two years ago through lack of numbers.

Yapton batting in the final

Yapton batting in the final

In the main competition final, the slick fielding and throwing by Yapton secured the vital wicket of Rose Rainton, Little Common’s leading run-maker. Her early run out left the East Division team struggling to produce a challenging score. As a result, Yapton, led by the day’s highest scoring batsman, Dionne Gooding and Toni Snowdon, the leading wicket taker, eased home by the end of the second over for a well-deserved tournament victory.


Section One:

  • Yapton 74, Wealden 21
  • East Grinstead 48, Crawley Down 30
  • Blackstone 40, Hurstpierpoint 41
  • Wealden 39, Crawley Down 52
  • Yapton 64, Hurstpierpoint 43
  • Blackstone 34, East Grinstead 36
  • Blackstone 38, Wealden 28
  • Hurstpierpoint 33, East Grinstead 49
  • Crawley Down 35, Yapton 63
  • Wealden 52, Hurstpierpoint 57
  • Crawley Down 30, Blackstone 44
  • Yapton 32, East Grinstead 31
  • Wealden 46, East Grinstead 47
  • Yapton 54, Blackstone 27
  • Crawley Down 47, Hurstpierpoint 46

Section Two:

  • Plumpton 34, Stedham 51
  • Little Common 53, Bolney 39
  • Plumpton 26, Bolney 60
  • Stedham 55, Cuckfield 31
  • Cuckfield 36, Plumpton 36
  • Little Common 44, Stedham 40
  • Plumpton 42, Little Common 44
  • Cuckfield 29, Bolney 27
  • Little Common 49, Cuckfield 40
  • Stedham 60, Bolney 30

Rest of the League Trophy: Yapton 33, Little Common 29

Losers’ Trophy (3rd/4th play-off): East Grinstead 38, Stedham 37

Tags: scsa, tournament